The Dance Without End

A place to discuss all Warhammer-related background and products not explicitly connected to the Black Library.

The Dance Without End

Postby Xisor » Sat Dec 03, 2011 11:53 pm

Hello all,

I finally glued together some Harlequins I've had for my Dark Eldar 40k force. They've been sitting about for years now, unmade, but I finally managed to pluck up the courage. After disconnecting my fingers from them and spraying the remains of my can of Chaos Black Spray onto them as undercoat (alongside my new Incubi who've only been sitting about since February), I am now almost at the stage for properly painting them.

Which leads me to what you might call a problem: I'm an utterly terrible painter.

So, there'll be none of this, this or even that.

Instead, I'm opting to limit myself to, in the beginning only a few colours. And I'll be painting each individual model in what can only be described as ambitious terms. I won't be painting them as a squad. Nor will I be painting them as individual named characters. Not even special characters. No, think more ambitious.

I'll be painting them as abstract concepts condensed onto one model. What will those concepts be? Well, you might have heard of them: they're the Eldar Pantheon of the War in Heaven.

Yes, my Harlequins will be a Masque themed on the Dance Without End. Of course, it won't be the complete Dance, mainly as that'd require at least three sets of full Harlequin Squads (to obtain the appropriate three Avatars [and probably Lelith or a Succubus or Lady Malys to represent the Solitaire]), so it won't be that.

No, instead, I'll make each character represent a God or Faction. (Hoec, Lileath and Gia will likely be missed out.)

===

So, my thinking so far is: