Ath's BL Book Bonanza

Considering Black Library books, products and events.

Ath's BL Book Bonanza

Postby Athelassan » Sun Jan 14, 2018 12:11 am

I recently moved house and brought a few hundred books with me. After a couple of trips to IKEA I had, as of 10.30 tonight, unpacked all of them and arranged them on bookcases. But then, something caught my eye. Under that sketch pad, was that more books?

I confess, I should have known better. Clearly my subconscious brain had been trying to tell me something. That box had been left untouched for a reason. But like that girl in the beginning of every horror movie, I just couldn't help myself. I walked over to the box, lifted the sketch pad, and what greeted my eyes?

My reaction to this was essentially a realisation I've been flirting with for many months now - that I'm basically done with GW fiction to any meaningful extent. My interest in the Heresy petered out a while ago after a number of mediocre novels, the increasing granularisation of the story content into expensive limited editions, and changes to the 40K setting making the whole thing seem a bit redundant. As far as fantasy goes, I have no interest in Age of Sigmar and with no future for the WHF setting, there's no point having all this stuff cluttering up the place unless I want it for its own sake.

So I'm having a bit of a clearout, and will be getting rid of quite a lot of my BL fiction. I'll hang onto some of it, the stuff I genuinely like and anything personally signed by the author for me (the two overlap). But most of the rest will be going. This is not without some regret but I think it's for the best.

Before they get put on ebay, I will make them available to Boltholers, as a tribute to my affection for the community as a whole. I may ask for a contribution towards postage if the packages are large/heavy but otherwise they are free of charge.